The Village of Williamsville was incorporated in 1850 and is one of over 550 incorporated Villages chartered by the State of New York. It encompasses an irregular square mile, most of which lies within the Town of Amherst with its southeast corner in the Town of Cheektowaga.
In 1976, the Village of Williamsville Historical Society was established in response to renewed interest in the preservation of the municipality’s history. The organization seeks to promote the community’s heritage and assure its preservation for future generations.
For more information abut the Historical Society, or to become a member, download an application form here.
On May 9, 1983, the Village of Williamsville Board of Trustees adopted a Historic Preservation Code, the purpose of which is to promote the awareness of landmarks of historic, cultural, social and architectural significance in the Village of Williamsville and to safe guard the heritage, character and quality of life unique to the Village through the preservation of these landmarks.
A Historic Preservation Commission was created for this purpose. This commission designates the landmark sites after conducting a survey to identify and document the history and/or significance of the landmark and after the Board of Trustees has conducted a public hearing. To date, 34 sites including the Village Meeting House and the Williamsville Water Mill have been designated as historical sites.
Click here for the Historic Preservation Committee page.
Mary Lowther, president of the Williamsville Historical Society, serves as the historian of the Village of Williamsville. For more information about the society, or for historical questions, Lowther can be contacted at firstname.lastname@example.org